South East Scoobies

South East Scoobies (http://www.southeastscoobies.co.uk/vbulletinforum/index.php)
-   Wheels,Tyres & Brakes (http://www.southeastscoobies.co.uk/vbulletinforum/forumdisplay.php?f=40)
-   -   Help please. What is this? (http://www.southeastscoobies.co.uk/vbulletinforum/showthread.php?t=20953)

Willowsdad 30-12-2015 01:37 PM

Help please. What is this?

As above, when inspecting the rear brakes I've found this is cracked. I can't find out what it is or what it does. So any ideas, and is it going to cause problems if I don't fix it right away? http://i1237.photobucket.com/albums/...37B9BFEC90.jpg
Thanks, Paul.

Banstead Stig 30-12-2015 01:42 PM

Looks like the ABS ring.

I'm no expert though!

Scott.T 30-12-2015 01:53 PM

Agree, looks like the ABS ring and it's about to loose a chunk. May of been damaged whilst trying to remove/leaver out old brake shoes.

It needs a repair or replace as it will cause ABS faults or even jam in the drum assembly if it falls off.

thepieman 30-12-2015 02:41 PM

If its still working ok, no abs light or anything..... give it a clean and stick it together with some epoxy putty

Dont use the putty on the notched side, just along the top bottom and back...

It only spins round for the sensor to read, no load or anything...... so repair the crack, saves removing all the hub etc etc and makes a cheap fix

Willowsdad 30-12-2015 02:57 PM

Cheers lads. I might've damage it knocking the old disc off I suppose. It was a bit of a pain to get off, and must've been catching on the shoes as it pulled the rusty retaining pins off. I'll have a look how much they are as my wheels won't be back till the 6th.

NL03Scooby 30-12-2015 03:32 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Willowsdad (Post 217972)