South East Scoobies  

Go Back   South East Scoobies > General Forums > Non Scooby / Non Car Related

Non Scooby / Non Car Related Anything Non-Scooby related.

Old 29-03-2010, 06:16 PM
'2 Spanners Qualified Technician' - If your job requires more then 1 spanner I'm your man !!!!!

Default Whining Zafira - any idea's?

Anyone got any experience with 1.9 Cdti vauxhalls?. My Mrs's Zafira seems to have a whine/wistle at low rev's. Its been in a couple of times now as I suspected it is the turbo, but each time they have said they cant find anything wrong, despite agreeing that it is noisey. . We have only had the car 4 weeks, and it is under warranty, so not too worried, but if there is something wrong, I would rather it got sorted now. Its a 55 plate with 72k.
Old 29-03-2010, 07:00 PM
Bronze Member

Couldn't be the auxillary belt could it! The belt on my old Galaxy started as a very light whistle at low revs and disappeared higher up. Damp weather of late could cause this I'm no expert, rather, thinking out loud

Ok, so it's not an Impreza but I need room for the dog so
Old 29-03-2010, 09:53 PM
Gold Member

Quote:
Originally Posted by MrX??? View Post
Have the gearbox fluid checked or changed
not sure how you came to this assumption? the o.p has said its a rev related fault.

you say at low revs,dose the noise chance the higher/lower the revs? is the noise speed related? where is the noise? more noisey when cold/hot?

seeing we are all having a guess i am thinking maybe its an egr valve fault

tone
Old 29-03-2010, 10:17 PM
'2 Spanners Qualified Technician' - If your job requires more then 1 spanner I'm your man !!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2-jaffacake-tone View Post
not sure how you came to this assumption? the o.p has said its a rev related fault.

you say at low revs,dose the noise chance the higher/lower the revs? is the noise speed related? where is the noise? more noisey when cold/hot?