South East Scoobies  

Go Back   South East Scoobies > The Garage > General Mechanics

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 13-09-2019, 05:49 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default Turbo cut

Hi all, today I was pushing the car and I was in 4th boosting and the turbo seemed to cut out for half a second, it Didn't drop any turbo pressure but cut out and kicked back in again a couple of times. The same in 5th as well. Could it be the turbo or fuel cut out. I don't have a fuel pressure gauge fitted but I might just to see (recommendations) any ideas anyone. It has a td05 turbo and 255 fuel pump
  #2  
Old 13-09-2019, 06:48 PM
scooby doo's Avatar
scooby doo scooby doo is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: hastings
Posts: 2,787
Default

Sounds like boost cut, what boost are you mapped for ?
  #3  
Old 13-09-2019, 07:07 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

1.5 bar boost gauge didn't change when it happened.
  #4  
Old 13-09-2019, 07:19 PM
scooby doo's Avatar
scooby doo scooby doo is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: hastings
Posts: 2,787
Default

Possibly blew the spark out he plug ? Are they gapped right
  #5  
Old 13-09-2019, 07:22 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Unsure but I can pull them out Sunday and check. What gap should they be? All runs fine other than that and no pops unless I put anti lag on anyway lol
  #6  
Old 13-09-2019, 07:29 PM
scooby doo's Avatar
scooby doo scooby doo is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: hastings
Posts: 2,787
Default

Are you using grade 7 plugs and .6-7 gap.
  #7  
Old 13-09-2019, 07:39 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Yeah 7s mate. I would of though that if the plugs wasnt gapped right I would of noticed by now, but I will check Sunday. Thanks
  #8  
Old 13-09-2019, 07:39 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Put in just before the ring trip so not old either
  #9  
Old 13-09-2019, 09:04 PM
scooby doo's Avatar
scooby doo scooby doo is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: hastings
Posts: 2,787
Default

True. Are you on the factory ecu ? As I remember seeing 1.5bar is the limit? Not sure could be talking crap
  #10  
Old 13-09-2019, 09:08 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Yes it's a stock ecu. My gut is saying turbo waste gate
  #11  
Old 14-09-2019, 09:47 AM
Scott.T's Avatar
Scott.T Scott.T is online now
Admin, Meets/Events Organiser.... formerly known as SilverSurfer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hastings, East Sussex
Posts: 9,302
Default

Sounds like a spot of overboost in the higher gears.
Mapping is often done with 3rd gear pulls, especially if done on a dyno.
When on the road you can generate boost spike or longer sustained higher boost in 4th/5th that can cause fuel cut or boost oscillation, dependant on where the boost/fuel cut threshold is set.

Could be worth looking at the tune to see what it's actually mapped to achieve vs what it's achieving and where the limits are set.
  #12  
Old 14-09-2019, 12:51 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott.T View Post
Sounds like a spot of overboost in the higher gears.
Mapping is often done with 3rd gear pulls, especially if done on a dyno.
When on the road you can generate boost spike or longer sustained higher boost in 4th/5th that can cause fuel cut or boost oscillation, dependant on where the boost/fuel cut threshold is set.

Could be worth looking at the tune to see what it's actually mapped to achieve vs what it's achieving and where the limits are set.
Thanks for the right up a advice mate. You could be right. It was road mapped by fb tuning a 5 months ago and done it once on the drive home, but it has done it since then until the other day. He had mentioned the the actuator needs adjusting but it already had been. He advised a new turbo housing and is on my near future plans. I will pull the plugs tomorrow and check the gapping. Hopefully all should be good soon
  #13  
Old 14-09-2019, 02:07 PM
Scott.T's Avatar
Scott.T Scott.T is online now
Admin, Meets/Events Organiser.... formerly known as SilverSurfer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hastings, East Sussex
Posts: 9,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HYDROSCOBY View Post
Thanks for the right up a advice mate. You could be right. It was road mapped by fb tuning a 5 months ago and done it once on the drive home, but it has done it since then until the other day. He had mentioned the the actuator needs adjusting but it already had been. He advised a new turbo housing and is on my near future plans. I will pull the plugs tomorrow and check the gapping. Hopefully all should be good soon
Could add a turn or two on the actuator (making it longer) May just be enough to calm it down but shouldn't effect target boost.
  #14  
Old 22-09-2019, 09:51 AM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

I might of found the issue. A injector wire looks really dodgy and that might be why I am getting fuel cut.

Sent from my MRD-LX1 using Tapatalk
  #15  
Old 22-09-2019, 10:07 AM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

As above I think this is fuel cut more than anything else. I haven't checked the plugs yet but I got a feeler gauge now and I will pull them next weekend and rewire that injector.
I want to get a fuel/lambda fuel gauge to keep a eye on this in the future. Does anyone run a fuel gauge or lambda gauge for fuel and air mix?
  #16  
Old 03-10-2019, 06:25 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

I think these look OK and done about 3k miles on them. Gap was 0.67mm I have put new plugs in anyway

Sent from my MRD-LX1 using Tapatalk
  #17  
Old 04-10-2019, 04:19 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Hi all, update on this. It must of been fuel cut. As I re wired a bodged job of wiring to a injector and now seems fine but not fully tested it yet.

Does anyone run a wideband AFR gauge if? I am thinking a AEM gauge or stack brands
  #18  
Old 08-10-2019, 07:37 PM
viper1982's Avatar
viper1982 viper1982 is offline
Regular User
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Argentina
Posts: 21
Default

I use a Wideband prosport with a very good result and the response time is very good. So far I have not had problems. Prosport EVO with Bosch LSU 4.9 oxygen sensor
  #19  
Old 08-10-2019, 10:34 PM
Scott.T's Avatar
Scott.T Scott.T is online now
Admin, Meets/Events Organiser.... formerly known as SilverSurfer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hastings, East Sussex
Posts: 9,302
Default

I use an innovate hardwired with gauge in the car and also have used an innovate with tailpipe probe and pc/laptop when road mapping.
  #20  
Old 09-10-2019, 06:42 AM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Thanks viper1982 and Scott. The car still isn't right
What Is the best thing to do? Put it on a dyno to find out what is going wrong. Even if I get a afr gauge it won't tell me if its a air issue or fuel, but when I do finally find out it will of course let me know something isnt right.
  #21  
Old 09-10-2019, 07:58 AM
Scott.T's Avatar
Scott.T Scott.T is online now
Admin, Meets/Events Organiser.... formerly known as SilverSurfer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hastings, East Sussex
Posts: 9,302
Default

A dyno probably won't help.
Have you taken the intercooler off and checked for splits.
I have witnessed a very bad misfire on a WR1 That ended up being the flange coming apart on the underside of the intercooler.
Obviously this only happened when trying to push some air/boost through it.
  #22  
Old 09-10-2019, 08:02 AM
Scott.T's Avatar
Scott.T Scott.T is online now
Admin, Meets/Events Organiser.... formerly known as SilverSurfer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hastings, East Sussex
Posts: 9,302
Default

I could bring my laptop to Brands and read out your map to see how close it's running to the boost cut limit.

Do you know what boost its achieving in 4th/5th compared to 3rd. It sounds like it's over achieving in the higher gears.

Did you try adjusting the actuator ?
  #23  
Old 09-10-2019, 09:05 AM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott.T View Post
A dyno probably won't help.
Have you taken the intercooler off and checked for splits.
I have witnessed a very bad misfire on a WR1 That ended up being the flange coming apart on the underside of the intercooler.
Obviously this only happened when trying to push some air/boost through it.
No I haven't checked that to be honest, but I will go and have a look at break and see if I can see any air leaks.

The car a constant speed seems a bit like it wants to ride away, hard to explain really. I wouldn't say lumpy but maybe abit learchy and not smoth.
  #24  
Old 09-10-2019, 09:09 AM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott.T View Post
I could bring my laptop to Brands and read out your map to see how close it's running to the boost cut limit.

Do you know what boost its achieving in 4th/5th compared to 3rd. It sounds like it's over achieving in the higher gears.

Did you try adjusting the actuator ?
That would be very kind of you thanks.

Of the top of my head I would say 1.3 bar in 3rd and 1.5 in 4th and 5th.

Not yet no as I wanted to do one thing at a time to find out the fix. But I will try and see if it can take a few more turns.
  #25  
Old 09-10-2019, 10:17 AM
Scott.T's Avatar
Scott.T Scott.T is online now
Admin, Meets/Events Organiser.... formerly known as SilverSurfer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hastings, East Sussex
Posts: 9,302
Default

Gauge may be over reading at 1.5.
I'd expect a standard turbo to be mapped to around 1.4/1.45.
3rd should be close to 4th/5th and is controlled by max and min boost control solenoid %.

But saying that, if you are feeling surging it sounds like a fuelling/air leak.

Common places to get a large enough leak post MAF are the turbo inlet hose split/mounting and under the intercooler. Either the hose connections or split intercooler flanges.
  #26  
Old 09-10-2019, 10:19 AM
Scott.T's Avatar
Scott.T Scott.T is online now
Admin, Meets/Events Organiser.... formerly known as SilverSurfer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hastings, East Sussex
Posts: 9,302
Default

Also try blanking off the dump valve with a dummy plate fitted under dv. In case that's blowing back in (assuming you running a recirc)
  #27  
Old 09-10-2019, 05:59 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

It's a td05 turbo so not standard turbo. I also have blocked d/valve plate and blocked pipe. When I get a chance I will have a look at the areas us said to see if there are any leaks. Standard ecu, mapper said my gauge doesn't read right, so a mate has given me a spare to plug in and see what that says. Mapped to 1.5 but on the way home put it into high boost setti g and it was reading 1.3 in 3rd and 1.4 in 4th
  #28  
Old 09-10-2019, 08:10 PM
scooby doo's Avatar
scooby doo scooby doo is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: hastings
Posts: 2,787
Default

I dont think you can run 1.5 on the stock ecu your boost readings are about right mine was mapped to 1.45bar and made 1.3 in 3rd then 1.45 in 4th and 5th
  #29  
Old 09-10-2019, 08:18 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scooby doo View Post
I dont think you can run 1.5 on the stock ecu your boost readings are about right mine was mapped to 1.45bar and made 1.3 in 3rd then 1.45 in 4th and 5th
Yeah that's annoying lol. Got so much I want to do with the car and the list just gets longer and never gets any shorter. Never mind fixing issues along the way

Sent from my MRD-LX1 using Tapatalk
  #30  
Old 10-10-2019, 09:35 AM
scooby doo's Avatar
scooby doo scooby doo is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: hastings
Posts: 2,787
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HYDROSCOBY View Post
Yeah that's annoying lol. Got so much I want to do with the car and the list just gets longer and never gets any shorter. Never mind fixing issues along the way

Sent from my MRD-LX1 using Tapatalk
joys of owning these cars and start modifying them. life would of been easier if stayed oem ,,,
  #31  
Old 10-10-2019, 10:03 AM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

I would say I will get there in the end but you never do lol
  #32  
Old 10-10-2019, 10:45 AM
scooby doo's Avatar
scooby doo scooby doo is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: hastings
Posts: 2,787
Default

Nope always something thats needs doing
  #33  
Old 10-10-2019, 08:34 PM
Scott.T's Avatar
Scott.T Scott.T is online now
Admin, Meets/Events Organiser.... formerly known as SilverSurfer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hastings, East Sussex
Posts: 9,302
Default

Are you running Carberry ?
  #34  
Old 10-10-2019, 09:02 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott.T View Post
Are you running Carberry ?
Stock I believe mate, is carberry aftermarket I guess
  #35  
Old 10-10-2019, 09:10 PM
Scott.T's Avatar
Scott.T Scott.T is online now
Admin, Meets/Events Organiser.... formerly known as SilverSurfer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hastings, East Sussex
Posts: 9,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scooby doo View Post
I dont think you can run 1.5 on the stock ecu your boost readings are about right mine was mapped to 1.45bar and made 1.3 in 3rd then 1.45 in 4th and 5th
There is a 300g/s limit on the MAF for the 16 bit ECU, but this is not a physical limit of the MAF/MAF tube, but the resolution of how it's coded i.e it won't accept a value entered greater than 300 for MAF scaling i.e a 4.69V MAF reading = 292g/s on a stock ROM..

There is a work around to re-scale the MAF and associated tables that use a load scale. You can 1/2 your MAF g/s scale parameters then 1/2 all maps that use a load scale (the load is derived/calculate by using the MAF reading). This in theory allows you to run upto 600g/s on a stock MAF sensor if the MAF tube was of a size that could flow it.

I've done this on 18G, 20G and 2.5's running 20G, but can't recall why or how close we got to the 300g/s limit. But it was 10 years ago (which was a surprise when I just looked and the file dates).
  #36  
Old 10-10-2019, 09:11 PM
Scott.T's Avatar
Scott.T Scott.T is online now
Admin, Meets/Events Organiser.... formerly known as SilverSurfer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hastings, East Sussex
Posts: 9,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HYDROSCOBY View Post
Stock I believe mate, is carberry aftermarket I guess
It's just that you said you had map switching. Is this via a boost controller or via button press combinations ?
  #37  
Old 10-10-2019, 09:15 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

I have a switch but unsure on if its throu boost controller. It was fitted by previous owner who also had anti lag and launch control by a button as well
  #38  
Old 10-10-2019, 09:35 PM
Scott.T's Avatar
Scott.T Scott.T is online now
Admin, Meets/Events Organiser.... formerly known as SilverSurfer
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hastings, East Sussex
Posts: 9,302
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HYDROSCOBY View Post
I have a switch but unsure on if its throu boost controller. It was fitted by previous owner who also had anti lag and launch control by a button as well
What's the difference in boost between on and off ?
Do you get the same issue in both settings
  #39  
Old 11-10-2019, 08:43 AM
scooby doo's Avatar
scooby doo scooby doo is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: hastings
Posts: 2,787
Default

If you have switchable maps, launch control and anti lag you most likely on Carberry.
Who mapped the car?
  #40  
Old 11-10-2019, 11:30 AM
SeanMcKnetic's Avatar
SeanMcKnetic SeanMcKnetic is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Eastbourne
Posts: 216
Default

I live 3 streets from you and have a 2005 WRX on a TD05. You're welcome to come and compare bits / borrow things that are quick to unbolt if they help diagnose the issue. Gotta be quick though as I am getting rid of the car asap.
  #41  
Old 11-10-2019, 05:43 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott.T View Post
What's the difference in boost between on and off ?
Do you get the same issue in both settings
Had a few pulls today in low boost 0.8 and seemed OK to be honest but only a few pulls
  #42  
Old 11-10-2019, 05:44 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scooby doo View Post
If you have switchable maps, launch control and anti lag you most likely on Carberry.
Who mapped the car?
Sounds good to me lol.

It was mapped by fb tuning on the road before the ring trip this year
  #43  
Old 11-10-2019, 05:47 PM
HYDROSCOBY's Avatar
HYDROSCOBY HYDROSCOBY is offline
Bronze Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: eastbourne
Posts: 353
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SeanMcKnetic View Post
I live 3 streets from you and have a 2005 WRX on a TD05. You're welcome to come and compare bits / borrow things that are quick to unbolt if they help diagnose the issue. Gotta be quick though as I am getting rid of the car asap.
Oh really lol. Unsure on what the issue is at moment but thanks for the offer, appreciate it. I can always pop over to have a look and meet up.
  #44  
Old 11-10-2019, 05:54 PM
scooby doo's Avatar
scooby doo scooby doo is offline
Platinum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: hastings
Posts: 2,787
Default

Fb tuning does carberry mapping withthe added features, I plan to use them for my current set up.
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools



All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Opinions expressed are not necessarily the opinions of SouthEastScoobies or any individuals directly or indirectly involved in this website. No responsibility is taken or assumed for any comments or statements made on this or any associated website. Visitors who use this website and rely on, or act on any information do so at their own judgement, discretion and or risk. SouthEastScoobies or its content providers shall not be liable for any loss or damage arising from or otherwise in connection with your use of SouthEastScoobies forums. It is not possible for the Administrators of these forums, or the Moderators participating, to fully and effectively monitor Messages that are submitted for infringement of third party rights. If you believe that any information within the forums infringes your legal rights, or gives cause for concern you should notify an Administrator or a Moderator immediately giving such information to enable the recipient to amend, delete or remove in its entirety the message, at their earliest convenience.